In This Issue

Homeland Security Department Organization

The new Homeland Security Department approved by Congress on November 19, 2002 will combine 22 agencies, 170,000 employees, and run with a budget of approximately $38 billion. Headed by a Secretary of Homeland Security, it will have four main divisions, each headed by an undersecretary. The following is a complete list of the agencies moving into the new department:

Informational Analysis and Infrastructure Protection

  • Critical Infrastructure Assurance Office (Dept. of Commerce);
  • Federal Computer Incident Response Center (General Services Administration);
  • National Communications System (Dept. of Defense);
  • National Infrastructure Protection Center (FBI); and,
  • National Infrastructure Simulation and Analysis Center (Dept. of Energy).

Border and Transportation Security

  • Immigration and Naturalization Service (Dept. of Justice);
  • Customs Service (Dept. of Treasury);
  • Animal Plant and Health Inspection Service (Dept. of Agriculture);
  • United States Coast Guard (Dept. of Transportation);
  • Federal Protective Services Police (General Services Administration); and,
  • Transportation Security Agency (Dept. of Transportation).

Emergency Preparedness and Response

  • Federal Emergency Management Agency;
  • Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Response Assets (Dept. of Health and Human Services);
  • Domestic Emergency Support Team (Interagency group);
  • Nuclear Incident Response (Dept. of Energy);
  • Office of Domestic Preparedness (Dept. of Justice); and,
  • National Domestic Preparedness Office (FBI).

Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Countermeasures

  • Civilian Biodefense Research Programs (Dept. of Health and Human Services);
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (Dept. of Energy);
  • National Biological Weapons Defense Analysis Center (New); and,
  • Plum Island Animal Disease Center (Dept. of Agriculture).

The US Secret Service (Dept. of the treasury) is also moving to the new Department of Homeland Security, but will stand as its own entity.